Abide by the Vibe: Holy Influence



“We all abide by the vibe we create for ourselves.”

Lately, my personal vibe has made me rethink different avenues. A particular element in my life that I have set aside for many years beforehand involved the notion of “God.”

I once considered myself very opposed to the idea of religion. I adamantly believed that a modern world could not only function, but thrive without the presence of gods/goddesses. What was the point of it all? Old civilizations used religion to explain the unknown. It was a means to rationalize everything before science and technology could provide the answers. Or so I thought.

As I write this, I find myself further convinced that I do in fact need “God” to move forward with the enigma that is my life. Perhaps everything up to this point in the past few years, in some shape or form, has been part of His divine plan for me.

I have been bewildered, frustrated and everything else you would not want to experience on the negative side of the emotional spectrum. However, no matter how rough things have become, a sense of undeniable “hope” has always lingered inside me.

It must be the power of “God” that I have missed out on this whole time. So I guess those random days where I walked past the “Bible thumpers” on my college campus, and to the same extent of me trying to “hear out” my Christian friends who tried convincing me about the greatness of God, left more of an impact than I realized.

But don’t get me wrong though … I am far from being a converted Christian or anything of that sort. It is not like I have started going to church on a weekly basis. I never really “prayed” properly before. I don’t even own a cross to wear around my neck. And heck, it is not like I have actually sat down and read from a Bible for more than 10 minutes.

Baby steps, after all. I just believe in God now and His existence. Everyone has to start somewhere.

And I know it is not a “cool” thing to admit these days, in a time where religion is so harshly scrutinized and used as a random scapegoat for the world’s problems. But I will not budge my from my newfound stance regardless. Bigotry is bad for both sides of the coin.

I can comprehend now why “God” can help us in our time of need. If I truly believe in His influence, I earnestly trust that His plans for me will pan out just fine.

It is why I wholeheartedly relate to the Serenity Prayer.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.
The courage to change the things I can.
And wisdom to know the difference.”

And indeed, if there was ever a time and place for me to need God’s guidance, I think calling out to Him is my best chance of escaping my personal hell.

A radiant vibe, blessed by His presence, can and will light my way through this terrifying darkness.

“We all abide by the vibe we create for ourselves.”

8 thoughts on “Abide by the Vibe: Holy Influence

  1. Penny L Howe September 6, 2013 / 5:11 pm

    Hi Nhan. I read your post. I think you may find this an excellent video. And btw, I don’t ever leave videos for people to watch – when I comment, so this is an exception for me. But I did think you would find some value in this one.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wviYuKDlKs 🙂

    Like

  2. kristijerome September 6, 2013 / 7:08 pm

    Nhan,

    Good for you for finding your way back to God! There is no correct way to pray. God can see into your heart. He knows what you need. All you need to do is acknowledge Him and ask. I too went through a time when I questioned God and thought that I could never crawl out of my never-ending darkness of depression. However, I realized that I could not do it on my own. I asked God/Jesus (because I am a Christian) two years ago to please help me. It has been slow going, but He led me and put into my life the right people and situations to get my depression under control.

    I apologize if it seems like I’m spouting doctrine. That is not my intent. I just want you to know that you are never alone and God is always on your side.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ptero9 September 6, 2013 / 7:55 pm

    Hey Nhan,
    I have found that leaving room for the Invisibles, or powers that are unseen yet do influence the dynamics of our lives, is useful. What we call them depends on the particulars of our lives, but that we call them is where we discover that the world is bigger than what we already know. We benefit from living with a sense of mystery. There is a Latin phrase, “Festina Lente,” meaning, Hasten Slowly. I share that with you that you may find it useful.
    Debra

    Like

  4. suikojay September 19, 2014 / 5:22 pm

    Jesus is always knocking on the doorways of our heart, just waiting for us to open the door to Him, and I am so glad to hear that you have allowed Him to enter your heart. 🙂

    I know you had said that you never really prayed properly before, but perhaps you have already without even realizing it. In it’s simplest form, prayer is just talking with our Lord. He knows all your needs, desires, sufferings, crosses, everything, but even still, He still desires us to talk with Him, give Him our hearts, express our joys and sadness with Him, giving Him all our concerns in life, as Scripture says in 1 Peter 5:7, “Cast all your anxieties on him, for he cares about you.”

    Anyway, I hope you grow more in love with our Lord, and that He continues to bless you and fill you with his love and grace.

    God bless you, and I’ll keep you in prayer my fellow brother (or is it sister?) in Christ!

    Like

Leave a Reply

