Pet Peeve: Undervaluing Anxiety

Everyone deals with anxiety at some point in their lives, but some people have it a lot worse than others.

I have always been someone stricken with the more extreme kind of anxiety, especially in regards to social situations. I have always been more than just a shy guy in this regard, and it annoys the crap out of me when people tell me that I am making a big deal out of simple scenarios.

For instance, meeting strangers can be difficult for me. I can take awhile to get used to people, which leads to cases where think I am extremely anti-social in this sense.

Nonetheless, I think it is important for people to show tact for those who get a bit more anxious than the average, “normal” person. I have long accepted that I am not like others when it comes to this kind of stuff.

Heck, it is an everyday battle with some sort of anxiety-based struggle. To undervalue anxiety can be borderline insulting.

4 thoughts on “Pet Peeve: Undervaluing Anxiety

  1. Christina September 28, 2013 / 9:43 am

    I have anxiety, too. I get overwhelmed very easily. I find myself in tears a lot from anxiety attacks. It is not fun.

    Like

  2. tarnishedsophia September 29, 2013 / 5:46 am

    That has got to be the cutest serious cartoon I’ve ever read! May have to show it to a friend of mine.

    I’m not anxious myself, but I am very solitary. I love being with my friends, really enjoy going to work, and like to visit my mother/younger sisters every week…but at the end of the day, I need my space. Others always tell me that one day I’ll wake up and hate living alone, but I don’t think this’ll happen. Living alone is my sanctuary!

    I’m sorry for your anxiety, Nhan and Christina. How do you end up dealing with it?

    Like

  3. Nina Crowlace October 18, 2013 / 3:04 am

    I’ve been in this situation so many times in the past month. I never thought about it in the way it is in the comic– but it makes me feel a little better. I’m tired of being told that it’s just me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

