Daily NhanSense – Day 3


Daily NhanSense: Every day, I will blog about something that comes to mind. My goal is to practice writing about my hobbies, my interests, my opinions and so forth.

Day 3’s Topic: Fortunes.


Whenever I get Chinese/Asian food that happens to come with a fortune cookie for dessert, I always like saving the fortunes and stashing them later in this “bowl” I have near my computer desk.

DSC03325

As you can see, I have accumulated quite the mini-collection of random fortunes next to my kitty bank (yes, there is in fact random change inside it.)


I’m totally a dessert guy to boot, so eating the fortune cookie is fun. It’s like, “Oh hey, I just had some really Americanized Asian food with a few pounds of sugar added to the dish, so what’s the harm of a little extra sweetness from this commercialized cookie?”

The typical routine entails cracking open the cookie, reading the fortune, while munching on the cookie as I store the fortune away in my wallet to be dropped off in the “bowl” later. 

Rinse and repeat. After like 20 random meals at places like Panda Express or the gazillion Chinese restaurants that serve the same sweet and sour chicken recipe, you end up with as many random fortunes as I have that I can reread whenever to my heart’s content.

Some fortunes are the standard self-esteem boosters that could pertain to anyone.

DSC03326

“Your confidence will lead you to success.”

Hmm, true. Confidence does give you the courage to make your way toward achieving goals.

DSC03329

“One of the keys to happiness is a bad memory.”

Correct. Letting go of the past probably means you have bliss leftover to keep you happy for the present.

DSC03327

“You soon will receive help from an unexpected source.”

Oh really? Is it from Spider-Man? I sure hope it’s Spider-Man.

And there are always the fortunes where you can tell the writer had to be chuckling out loud as they were conjuring them up.

DSC03330

“Never trouble trouble till trouble troubles you.”

Wise words indeed.

I don’t see myself stopping this peculiar habit of mine. Most people chuck their fortunes away after their Chinese/Asian meal.

It’s not like I expect these fortunes to combine together at one point and then grant me the ultimate luck in the world or anything like that, but it doesn’t hurt to be collecting something that often intends good wishes versus negative stuff.

I mean … If I ended up with a fortune that read that I would die in three days or something, I would be worried. But until then, it’s a safe bet to assume that I have the perfect spot for the next fortune slip I crack from a certain, post-meal cookie.

“Get good. Be better.” – Nhan Fiction


3 thoughts on “Daily NhanSense – Day 3

  1. Strawberry September 25, 2014 / 7:18 am

    I once got a fortune from a fortune cookie that said “Your problem has just gotten bigger. Think, what have you done?” I just sat there for a minute and thought “Wow, I just got one of those rare bad fortunes.” I think that was the first bad fortune I had gotten from a fortune cookie.

    Like

    • Nhan Fiction September 25, 2014 / 5:44 pm

      I have yet to get any fortune warning of anything ominous heading my way. Perhaps I am just curious what I would do if I did get a bad one the next time I eat Chinese food. ^^;

      Like

  2. paulieredperson5 September 26, 2014 / 3:22 pm

    I once got one that said, “Your love will come to you in the form of 14K gold roses.” Even funnier is a friend who went there later got the same one 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

