Daily NhanSense – Day 4


Daily NhanSense: Every day, I will blog about something that comes to mind. My goal is to practice writing about my hobbies, my interests, my opinions and so forth.

Day 4’s Topic: Footwear.


I am a no-thrills kind of guy when it comes down to it. It’s not that I dislike fancy things, but simple stuff usually more than suffices for my personal tastes, especially when it comes to clothing.

On a regular day, I am the kind of person who wears generic sneakers with white socks, but I definitely prefer to sport sandals when the weather permits it.

Below are my favorite pair of sandals that I have had for about four/five years now.

DSC03335

My mother bought me these around the time I graduated from college. They literally came from her trip to Vietnam, so there is a bit of cultural value to them. I think they fit my feet nicely even after all these years, and I like the appeal of them.

They don’t appear tacky, but they don’t try too hard in terms of fanciness either. It’s a happy medium between style and comfort.

DSC03332

Not to mention, if you notice, there are even dragon patterns subtlety popping out of its design. As the dragon is my Chinese Zodiac symbol, that’s pretty neat.

DSC03333

But alas, there will probably come a time where I will have to replace these. And this might be sooner rather than later.

DSC03334

A hole has already popped through the sole of the left sandal near the heel area. I can also tell that the sandals are starting to feel “softer” than usual as I walk around outside.

But I am someone who doesn’t like throwing stuff away until I absolutely need to. And plus, I can at least use my favorite sandals every day because I need to wear something in the house I am living in at the moment.

Yeah, I know. It’s weird for an Asian guy to wear shoes indoors, but this house is an exception. The floors are constantly filthy with so many pets running around, constantly dirtying up the place.

I guess I could be wearing house slippers to accomplish the same purpose, but I’ll gladly use any excuse to wear these dragon sandals of mine each day.

Do you have a favorite pair of shoes/sandals?

“Get good. Be better.” – Nhan Fiction


Leave a Reply

