Daily NhanSense – Day 6


Daily NhanSense: Every day, I will blog about something that comes to mind. My goal is to practice writing about my hobbies, my interests, my opinions and so forth.

Day 6’s Topic: Baking.


I’m a dude who enjoys baking. Come at me.

Just kidding.

Regardless, baking is fun for me. I find it relaxing, plus it’s the kind of chemistry I can get into because it requires patience and finesse to ensure your baked goods come out correctly.

One particular thing I have had lots of practice with is banana bread.

I always happen to have a few spare bananas lying around near the end of a week, so banana bread is something rather easy to throw together.

I found this one particular recipe awhile back, and it has proven itself as a real winner. It’s for strawberry banana bread, but the strawberries can always be switched out for something else (I just usually go with blueberries because they naturally complement the banana flavor.)

I have since altered the recipe a bit to my liking, and I think I am quite content with the consistent banana loaf that pops out of the oven.

So here’s how I prepare (blueberry) banana bread from start to finish.

Ingredients

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 350° F.
DSC03358

2. Grease a loaf pan.
 DSC03361

3. Get three ripe bananas. Ideally, you want the peels to be as dark as possible. Bananas gradually grow sweeter the riper they get, so you want to use bananas that have sat around for a few days.

If you use barely ripen bananas, they won’t be sweet enough for the banana loaf.
DSC03362

4. Smash/make the banana bits smaller. I just chop them up.
DSC03364

5. Put the bananas in a large bowl.
DSC03367

6. Melt 1/3 cup of butter, and then let it cool.
DSC03369 DSC03372
DSC03378

7. Combine the melted butter with the bananas, along with 1 and 1/3 cups worth of sugar and 1 tsp of brown sugar.
DSC03374 DSC03376

8. Mix all the ingredients well.
DSC03380 DSC03381 DSC03383

9. Add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg.
DSC03392

10. Add two lightly beaten eggs to the mix along with 1 tsp of vanilla extract. Mix well again.
DSC03386
DSC03389

11. In a different bowl, whisk together 1 and 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, 1/2 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt.
DSC03384DSC03393

12. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet mixture. Use a wooden spoon to stir until everything is blended together well.
DSC03396

13. This step is optional, but feel free to add whatever additional ingredient(s) you would like. I opt for just a 1/3 cup of blueberries because I like the flavor profile of bananas and blueberries together.

However, I have experimented with a whole cup of blueberries and more in the past, and this often overpowered the banana flavor to the point where the loaf ended up being blueberry bread instead of banana bread. But hey, it’s up to you.

If you have chosen to add an additional ingredient(s) at this step, fold the ingredient(s) into the mix gently with the wooden spoon.
DSC03397

14. Pour the banana loaf mixture into your greased loaf pan.
DSC03398

15. Another optional step. I sprinkle on about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon on the top of the loaf. You could add more cinnamon or none at all.
DSC03399

16. Set the pan in the oven to bake for 60 minutes. Use the toothpick test to check the center to see if it’s still raw or not.
DSC03402
DSC03404
DSC03405

17. Remove the banana bread from the oven to cool.
DSC03407

18. And voila. You have (blueberry) banana bread. Feel free to add whatever else you would like. For instance, for this particular loaf of banana bread, I added a homemade glaze on top before I sliced it up to serve.
DSC03418

This is an easy recipe, but it’s still tasty.

Again. I’m a dude who enjoys baking. Come at me.

“Get good. Be better.” – Nhan Fiction

2 thoughts on “Daily NhanSense – Day 6

  1. paulieredperson5 September 27, 2014 / 11:21 pm

    Oooh! Yummy! I like baking too but have never tried banana bread. I’m going to have to try your blueberry one!

    Like

    • Nhan Fiction September 28, 2014 / 8:34 pm

      Please let me know what you think of this recipe. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

