Daily NhanSense – Day 8


Daily NhanSense: Every day, I will blog about something that comes to mind. My goal is to practice writing about my hobbies, my interests, my opinions and so forth.

Day 8’s Topic: Card games.


I love card games. For about a year and a half or so, I have been playing a lot of Magic: The Gathering.

It’s the world’s most popular card game for a reason, as numerous players across the globe play Magic.

As of last week, Magic’s Standard format has since rotated to make room for the new Khans of Tarkir set. Basically, each Standard block restricts the type of cards you can use for an extended period of time.

You may only use certain sets of cards allowed for this time period for the decks you build to compete in tournaments. It may sound strange, but it’s a means of letting cards get their time to shine while hopefully mixing up the format for each Standard rotation.

Of course, this newest Standard rotation meant I had to retire the deck I was using for so long, which was my Green White Hexproof deck.

I am a bit saddened at this fact because I really did enjoy this deck. It won me A LOT of cards as prizes, placing well or winning first at my local tournaments on many nights.

But alas, every good thing has to come to an end at some point. At the very least, I can still play a Modern version of this, so not all is lost.

Below is the deck build I used.


The Deck

Land (22)

Planeswalker (3)



Basically, the deck was rather easy to play, but only in the sense that its strategy of winning was straightforward.

You get a creature … like Witchstalker.

jpeg

And then you continue to dump as many enchantment cards as you possibly could on that creature to power them up.

Unflinching Courage, Ethereal Armor … I geared every card in this deck around this purpose, with a few other cards to supplement alternative ways to finish off my opponent for the “W.”

And with the all-important hexproof ability on most of the creatures in this deck, which prevents your opponents from targeting your creature with a lot of their cards, your souped-up creature is more or less safe from harm.

The deck is literally about forming your own version of Voltron, with the creature drawing its “pieces” from the enchantments to tower over anything else your opponent can possibly throw your way.

You then keep swinging with your Voltron-upped creature until you come out victorious. Fundamentally simple, but incredibly powerful.

However, because the deck was essentially a combo deck in itself, it had a high streak of variance it had to deal with as a drawback.

The deck experienced huge swing factors. It would have awesome games one match, but then it would give you a crappy performance the next. Every hand you drew was trying to fumble around for a right balance of creatures, lands and enchantments, so an ideal batch of cards was going to elude you from time to time.

Not to mention, plenty of hate cards existed that your opponent could side in to hose this deck’s plan of attack.

Cards like Back to Nature could outright ruin this deck’s day …

Regardless, I loved this deck. I hate to see it retire in this Standard block, but this means I get to build a new deck to play.

Let’s just say the next deck I am using gets to showcase my favorite Planeswalker in the game … Kiora, the Crashing Wave.

And I do love Kiora, after all.

“Get good. Be better.” – Nhan Fiction


Leave a Reply

