The 54th Deadline: Time Limits

2956557e7a633aa1a746082d2c582f51.jpg

“Every second does technically count. It’s just easier not to make each tick matter.”

I want to be more efficient. I want to be more meticulous. I want to more successful in everything I do.

So I think it’s been long overdue that I attempt to tighten up my approach with life itself. First and foremost, I need to start setting aside chunks of time throughout the day that are dedicated to specific tasks.

Writing.

Reading.

Whatever.

The task itself doesn’t matter. It’s just a matter of committing to the intended task at hand and making sure it gets done. And of course, I have to make sure it is done right. If I do something halfheartedly, it’s also counterproductive. It defeats the purpose of trying to structure my life around certain aspects I want to work toward, meaning my overall progress is just delayed even further.

I don’t want this blog to sound repetitive. I want to reach a point where I can start gushing about how I was able to achieve this and that. That’s the main goal in mind for this blog these days.

Don’t get me wrong. Talking about the bad stuff here and there is absolutely necessary. If I didn’t, a lot of negativity builds up and becomes dangerous. At the same time, I want to guide this blog toward more positive themes. I don’t want to talk about the sad/bad stuff for the rest of this blog’s existence. That would be lousy.

So instead, I want to start working really hard at being a better me. A superior 2Q==.jpgme. A significant me who draws in the right kind of ideal attention.

Mopey me needs to go.

For that to happen, I need to make more of my seconds count. I need to make sure more things get done as quickly and effectively as I can.

It’s an old trick, but it’s a good one.

I just need to set time limits.

Remember back in school when they would suggest you spend x amount of time on studying a subject at home? Well, that does in fact make a difference. Dividing up your time into manageable chunks can cut down on so much wasted energy and ticks off the clock.

The fact is, I admit I lack a lot of discipline in many ways. When it comes to managing my time, I am far from perfect. If anything, I would give myself probably a C or D if we were grading people on the topic.

I am not the absolute worst, but I have a lot of room for improvement.

I need to work the numbers out, but I need to figure out how much willpower I can muster toward something before I lose interest and want to default to being lazy. Trust me. In this day and age, there are way too many ways to distract yourself.

It is just so easy to sink into something you shouldn’t be in, as the temptation is always there. You succumb to your own weaknesses. By and large, most people are procrastinators. I procrastinate because I lose attention very quickly. Like rapid fast on some days.

And who can blame me or anyone else for that matter? There are so many ways to lose sight of what is around you. We have the internet to thank for that.

Tokyo-ESP-ep02-it-would-be-too-much-for-that-old-guy-if-you-fell-through-a-second-time.png

Numerous videos to browse on the internet.

Social media.

Heck, life itself can be so tiring that you just want to nap away during the day. I know I am guilty of this a lot.

So many distractions!

Alas, I can’t expect things to change unless I start changing how I do things, even if it’s through phases.

Believe me. I don’t anticipate making a complete transition toward Mr. Time-Efficiency overnight, let alone in the next week. It may take me at least a month. I don’t really know. What is important, though, is that I try. I have to try with complete seriousness and a genuine desire to make it happen.

I do not want to disappoint myself. I don’t want to continue being so all over the place, doing things sporadically versus tackling things in a methodical, purpose-driven manner.

Structured success is something I want to focus on for the next few months. I want to give myself a reasonable time limit.

In three months, I want to be different… in a good way. I want to be better than I have ever been in my life.

It’s a lot of bold words coming from me, but I have been through a lot of personal hell. I never want to feel like that miserable person I was five years ago. Ever. Again.

Nope. Not a chance.

I have to think positive, concentrate and keep hacking away at what needs my attention. I have to remember the random note card I wrote the other day…

Cd2BTFSUsAA5IGx.jpg

Well, I need to go prove to the world how valuable I am now, right?

What am I waiting for? Time is money, after all. 🙂

“Complete the process.” – Nhan Fiction

Time-Life-Quotes.jpg

2 thoughts on “The 54th Deadline: Time Limits

  1. Wendy Love March 24, 2016 / 6:45 am

    Way to go! These are great ideas, all goals worth pursuing. My favourite part is this :… I want to guide this blog toward more positive themes. I don’t want to talk about the sad/bad stuff for the rest of this blog’s existence.”
    There are enough “sad/bad” blogs out there on depression.
    We don’t need other peoples’ said stories. We have our own sad stories….
    We need stories like yours, you are trying, you aren’t going to give up, you are still making goals.
    Keep up the good work. And while you inspired others you can inspire yourself as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

